
Wed Feb 09, 2005, 11:39am
|
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
|
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
|
If B1 is facing the basket with his back to A1 and A1 runs into the back of B1 with the ball, is it a PC? B1 did not have LGP on A1? Does that matter for a PC?
I'd call a PC foul, myself.
|
You would be correct to call a player control foul on A1, because even though B1 did not have a legal guarding postion against A1, but he had set a legal legal screen against A1.
MTD, Sr.
|
In any event, why is this screening action? Isn't the dribbler responsible for *not* charging into opponents, outside of any screening principles? He does under ncaa. [/B]
|
It ain't a "screening" action and never was. It doesn't meet the definition of a "screen" under rule 4-39-1. B1 isn't trying to delay or prevent an opponent from reaching a desired position, as the definition says. B1 just picked out a spot and is legally standing there. The action does meet the restriction in R10-6-2 that says "a dribbler shall not charge into nor contact an opponent in his/her path....unless the space is such as to to provide a reasonable chance for him or her to go through without contact". That's the reason it's a PC foul.
|