
Wed Feb 09, 2005, 10:24am
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by NotReallyHere
I wasn't there when this story actually happened, but my partner last night told me the following, which occurred in a D3 NCAA game this season.
A1 drives to the basket and contacts B1 who has a position almost directly beneath the hoop, knocking B1 to the floor and the ball goes in. The lead official whistles and indicates and verbalizes a charge, and wipes off the hoop.
As he gets to the reporting area, he says to this partner, "Wait, he was right under the basket. I can't call that a charge." Then to the table and benches, he says "My mistake! Block! Score the basket. Shooting one."
In this play, should they have administered it as a one-man blarge?!!! (eek)
|
Why was your partner trying to use an NCAA woman's rule in a man's game? It's a charge if the contact occured before the ball went in, isn't it?
|