R3 was put out after achieving 2B; therefore R2 was still forced to 3B
At the time of the appeal, R3 was out. Therefore, no force at 3B. In fact, R3 could have been thrown out at home, there would still be no force at 3B.
There's even an ASA case play to cover it: Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, 1 out. Charles lines a hit to right. Abel scores, Baker misses 2B and goes to 3B. Charles touches 1B but is thrown out at 2B. The defense appeals Baker's miss of 2B. Baker is out on appeal, but it's not a force play (even though Baker was put out after touching 1B). Abel's run counts.
But this is ASA. I have no idea how NFHS would rule.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|