Quote:
Originally posted by WyMike
Alright, I'm thinking the spirit of 'displacement' isn't intended for a player going to the floor after incidental contact whether in LGP or not.
This weekend I had A1 with the ball and B1 had LGP very tight to A1. A1 drops his left foot back and cross over dribbles to the left of B1. B1 catches an elbow to the chin and drops not from displacement, but 'cuz it looked like he bit his tongue and it hurt really bad.
A1, B1 and I were all alone out in the middle of the floor, I ruled it as incidental contact, the play went on and not a coach or parent hollered about it.
In the sitch which started this thread, if A bonked heads with B in a normal movement and B goes straight down without displacement, I got nothing. If he swings his head around like an overly aggressive elbowing move and knocks B out of place, I have a PC.
Am I too far off here?
|
As I read the play, B1 had legal guarding position. A1 moved into him - he "pivoted back" is what the original post said. B1 is entitled to his spot on the floor. Nothing A1 does can dislodge him from that position. If in the opinion of the official the player flopped, then I'd have a no call. However, A1 gained an advantage from the contact. B1 went to the floor. Now we have a 5 and 4 situation. Definite advantage for the offense. Now, I'm not saying every time a player goes to the floor that we have to have a foul. It depends on the situation. What caused him to fall? He's own clumsiness, then I have nothing. Did he flop? Still have nothing, unless I've warned him about this tactic, and then maybe I'll T'm up.
They way I interpreted the play, B1 went down due to the pain and it was not incidental contact, because A1 moved into him initiating the aforementioned contact (that's for all you lawyer types out there!).