Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by tarheelcoach  
At our meeting today, the director of officials said that the only time a pitcher could execute a 'soft turn' to first is before he brought his hands together.  He moved on quickly before I could ask what in the world that meant! 
 
Any help is appreciated. 
 
BTW, this is middle school ball using NFHS rules. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Last year, in FED, ANY turn of the shoulders was (by rule) a balk.
FED decided to ease the restrictions.  So, now, from the "pre-set" position, ANY turn of the shoulders is allowed.  Once the hands are joined, ANY turn is a balk. 
(Also, ANY turn from the wind-up is a balk.