Thread: BLARGE
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 06, 2005, 05:38pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by tjones1
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by tjones1
Quote:
Originally posted by chayce
Last week, someone mentioned that in Women's NCAA a blarge (block by one official, charge by another) is handled in a way that allows the officials to get together, decide who has the primary, and then let the primary official make the call. (As opposed to NFHS which is a double foul and A/P). I can't find this in the NCAA manual or mechancis book. Can someone help me out with this?
I don't believe you can call both a charge and a block at the same time. It's the same for the NFHS, whoever's primary the play was in is who has the call, the other official has to eat the call.
Yoou might wanna check out NFHS case book play 4.19.7SitC. That might make you into a believer. You're wrong on this one.
Better have a brass pair to make this call. While this could happen, probably unlikely.
No, you'd better have a brass pair if you only call one of them. You'll need both of 'em when you explain to the coach that you called a foul on his opponent, but you've changed your mind.

You can pre-game it all you want to, but double whistels are still going to happen.
Reply With Quote