Thread: BB question
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 02:18pm
djmforce djmforce is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Based on the following information, can the thrower-in have one foot place on the boundary line, and if so can the toe of the foot be in the court while standing on the boundary line? I can not find any passage in the NCAA, NBA or FIBA rule books that states otherwise.

NCAA 2005 Rule Book
RULE 9-5/VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES
Section 5. Throw-in
Art. 1. The thrower-in shall not:
a. Leave a designated spot.
b. Fail to pass the ball directly into the playing court so that after it crosses the boundary line, it touches or is touched by another player (in bounds or out of bounds) on the playing court before going out of bounds.
c. Execute a throw-in that lodges between the backboard and the ring or comes to rest on the flange.

A.R. 12. During a throw-in by Team A, A1’s (a) foot breaks the plane of the boundary
line or (b) A1’s hand(s) and the ball break the plane of the boundary line.
RULING: No violation in either (a) or (b).
Reply With Quote