View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 05:37pm
DownTownTonyBrown DownTownTonyBrown is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
High school baseball interpretations came out a couple of days ago.

Here's one that seems a little stupid to me.

SITUATION 1: Smith is the pitcher and Jones is the catcher for the home team. In the second inning, Smith walks and CR1 (Evans) legally enters as a courtesy runner for Smith. In the fourth inning, with Smith struggling, the home coach has Smith and Jones trade positions. Smith is now the catcher and Jones is now the pitcher. In the fifth inning, Jones comes to bat and walks. The home coach puts CR1 (Evans) in to be a courtesy runner for Jones. RULING: A courtesy runner may run for either the catcher or the pitcher but not both. Evans, having been a courtesy runner for Smith when he was the pitcher, may only be a courtesy runner for any pitcher of the home team. Once a player is a courtesy runner for a position, he can only continue to courtesy run for that particular position. Evans, at this point in the game, is eligible to be a courtesy runner for Jones, but not for Smith. (Speed-Up Rules)

So... a courtesy runner runs for a particular DEFENSIVE position... okay?

I've yet to read the others. But you can find them at:
http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...OOT&NewsImage=
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote