View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 10:12am
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I sense a difference between (1) the BR who is tagged out at 2B for the 3rd out trying to return to correct a miss of 1B, and (2) a runner who misses 2B and is tagged out for the 3rd out while scrambling back to touch 2B and then, with his hand on the bag, is appealed for having missed it the first time around.

Unfortunately, it's just a sense. I'm still trying to think of how to define the difference. It seems to me that in case (1) the BR should not be allowed to correct his error. Case (2) is another story, especially since what I always thought was the ruling (not a force out, and no appeal of the missed base allowed) is in dispute.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote