We have a ruling that would allow a BR to continue to 1B after the 3rd out to prevent an advantageous 4th out. It would seem logical then to allow any runner who is forced by BR to advance to prevent an adantageous 4th out at another base, say 2B. These rulings are for runners moving forward, who have not made a base running error. But this original post was about a runner putout for the 3rd out at 2B who missed 1B, and it is simply not logical to allow him to return to 1B to correct a base running error to prevent an advantageous 4th out. He should be out and the only question is which out is more advantageous to the defense as the defense is allowed to have an advantage in this case. The only question left in my mind is whether a runner who was not putout for the 3rd out, and is not continuing to run because he is going to 1B or forced to advanced should be allowed to run backwards after the 3rd out to erase his baserunning error before the defense makes an advantageous 4th out. Until I see an AO on this I will plan to rule NOT in the extremely rare event that a runner would make it back to the missed base before the defense makes their appeal. I personally think advantageous 4th out appeals will be made before the affected runner can make it back anyway, so all this discussion is just mental exercise...
[Edited by DG on Feb 2nd, 2005 at 07:20 AM]
|