View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 29, 2005, 03:21pm
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
[QUOTE]Originally posted by cbfoulds

Quote:
NO, he's saying that the runner can't return to correct the baserunning error 'CAUSE HE'S ALREADY OUT, for cripe sake. Think horses, not zebras: you don't need any complex interpretation of 5.07 or any other rule: he's out, so he can't lawfully run bases anymore. This ain't all that hard, folks!
Alright, try this zebra then:

Same play essentially, but add R1 in the mix. B3 hits a gapper, R3 scores easily, but R1 is thrown out at the plate for the third out. B3, who is standing at second base, hears the defense call for a fourth-out appeal at first base because B3 did not touch it. Can B3 run back to first to tag it and remove the appeal attempt?

Remember now, it was R1 who made the third out at home, and B3 was not retired on the play. What prevents him from correcting his base running mistake and thwarting the defense's fourth-out appeal?

Manny
Reply With Quote