Quote:
Originally posted by dddunn3d
He then asked if B1, after being put out, could return and retouch 1B before the defense realizes that the fourth out opportunity exists, thereby keeping the run. I thought about it and I can't recall ever seeing that point addressed anywhere in the books, on the web, etc. I told him that I would probably rule that a batter/runner could not return to correct a baserunning error after he has been put out, but I would appreciate further input/insight from the more experienced members of this board.
|
How's this: OBR 5.07 states, "When three offensive players are legally put out, that team takes the field and the opposing team becomes the offensive team." So once three outs are recorded, the offensive team is now the defensive team, and defensive players cannot legally touch bases. There's nothing a base runner can do to prevent an appeal for an advantageous fourth out; otherwise, you'd be allowing more play to take place when the inning is already over.
Manny