View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 07:54pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
B1 reaches slightly through the line and the thrower moves such that there is a slight brush on the ball (or with the thrower), ... the violation is certainly more fitting.

As I said before, you have the option of either one so that you don't have to choose between nothing and a T. If the contact is minor and is not due to a deliberate attempt to make contact with the player or ball, I think the warning can be a good choice.
[/B]
Question, Camron?

Half-way through the 4th quarter, an A player reaches through the plane and touches the ball while a B thrower is holding it OOB. You follow your reasoning above and now issue a warning to team A. With about 10 seconds to go, B scores to come within a point, but has no TO's left. A1 goes OOB with the ball with 7 seconds to go, you start your 5-second count, and a B player immediately reaches over the plane and interferes with the ball. Are you now gonna stop the clock to issue a warning to team B, and at the same time allow team B to set up their defense for a possible steal or a quick foul? Doesn't leave you much choice does it, considering 9.2.11COMMENT.

Guess we'll have to agree to disagree on this one, Camron.I just can't believe that the FED intended to give us options on these calls. To me, the rules are very explicit:
- reach through the plane without touching anything or anybody----> warning.
- reach through the plane and touch the thrower----> intentional personal foul
- reach through the plane and touch the ball in the thrower's hands---->technical foul. [/B][/QUOTE]

You hare-brained, dim-witted, village idiot!!! ( hey, give me my keyboard back!!) ..df
das j
fdjl $##*
&@%$#

OK. Back....

If they did't give us options, the T/Intentional could never happen since we are to call the infractions in the order they occur.

In the last play in your scenario, I'm either not going to blow my whistle unless/until A can't get the pass off in time or I'm calling the T.

If they, at any time, reach through with the express purpose of interfering with the throwin and touch the ball, you bet I'm going to call the T. No question.

If in the earlier situation of your scenario, the act was an attempt to block the throwin pass...a T would be my choice. However, if they had their hands across the line but the contact with the ball was minor and/or appeared inadvertant, a violation/warning would be my call.


I have called both a violation and a warning when the ball was contacted.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote