View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 07:43pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
The dribber can move any direction he wants and in any orientation unless the defender gets to the spot first and/or has LGP.

The shoulder being lowered is only a clue. If the defender is moving towards the dribbler at the time of contact, I'm still calling a block.

If the defender has LGP, PC.
What if the defender has a toe on an OOB line when the contact occurs?

Ignore that, Camron. Just funnin'. I know that you hate that rule.
I'll abbrevieate my discussion on that point....

.

Done. That's about as brief as I can be on that point.

Seriously, I don't mind the rule so much. It's just that the written rule and the interpretation and the clarification are not consistent with each other. The rule talks only about the status of LGP with regards to being OOB while the interpretation/clarification talks about the definition of a block with regards to being OOB while nothing in the rule support this across the board.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote