Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown 
 
	I do remember the thread. And, like you, I believe the concensus was to allow play to continue. And if I recall correctly, the reason was, that nothing in the rule book allows you to stop play for this situation.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by observer I recall reading somewhere if a net hangs up
 on the rim because of a made basket, the official
 should not blow the whistle to correct the net.
 Allow play to continue, anyone remember this!
 |  
 Additionally, many argued that a hung up net will not likely stop the next shot from going through the hoop. So what's the difference - let it hang... or snag.
 
 As others here have also stated, if you kill the play (incorrectly), then you have to let in substitutes - that couldn't have entered until the next legal dead ball.
 
 Perhaps you want to do a Google search to find the previous thread.
 | 
	
 While there was certainly no definitive ruling on this, there was also not a consenus. There were several proponents of for both sides of this argument. Both side pointed out rules that, to some degree, would support either conclusion.
I happen to fall on the side of fixing the net as soon as hte shot goes through based on the rule that defines how the basket should be constructed and the fact that a ball 
could be deflected out or off of the rim by a hung net.
Others clearly have different opinions.