Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by tjones1
Mark,
Might be out of line here, but why wouldn't you shoot the second free throw? A1 was granted two shots for the foul. What if Team B's coach comes to you after he missed the first shot and while you are walking off and is screaming in your face telling you what a low life form you are etc...which results in a T. Now the second free throw that wasn't shot becomes a factor.
|
If you do happen to give that late T, then you can shoot the 2nd shot plus 2 more for the T. You never shoot the second shot if it makes no difference in who wins though. Mark had it completely right.
Rules reference is R5-6-3Exception and casebook play 5.6.3SitD.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jan 23rd, 2005 at 09:23 PM]
|
Now I've done a few tournaments where points for and against mattered in the rankings. I guess my question is in a situation like that should we shoot both free throws because they matter some how?? The only reason I ask is because in a tournament like that I did it by the book only to have the importance of points for and against told to me by both the administrators of the game and the coaches.