View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2001, 09:07am
Zeke5 Zeke5 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 85
Thanks Middleman.

So even (in #2) if the ball came to rest on the three
yardline and R25 batted the ball into the endzone, it
is illegal batting, but not considered a new force and
the ball would be dead when it broke the plane of the
goal line? This actually would be a smart play for R
if they tought there was any question that they would
be able to secure posession of the ball inbounds.

Interesting stuff. I know the NFL (and possibly NCAA)
permits backward batting. Federation rules are not
specific to any direction, therefore all batting is illegal.
(including K batting a grounded punt backwards to prevent it
from crossing the goal line?)

Reply With Quote