Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
10.6.1 SITUATION E: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.
|
One note on this case that I haven't seen touched on yet is that in the case the dribbler loses control of the ball which is why there wasn't a traveling violation. I believe that it is save to assume - since there isn't a foul call - that, had the player been holding the ball as he/she fell to the floor, it would have been ruled a travel.