View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 18, 2005, 08:37am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by bwbuddy
In High School, is there a rule that refers to the dribbler being allowed two steps after he picks up his dribble before he shoots or passes?
The rule book doesn't refer to "steps." Instead, it refers to "movement of the pivot foot in excess of prescribed limits" (or something like that).

Depending on how you're counting, the play you describe is legal -- if the player stops the dribble while both feet are in the air, the player can land on one foot (step 1), put the other on the floor (step 2), lift the first (and the second if desired) and shoot or pass. You'll see this most often on a lay-up. If the player puts the first foot back on the floor, it's a violation.

Reply With Quote