View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 07:43pm
davidw davidw is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.
Same old/same old!

This is the same situation basically that we've fought over several times already. We've also had supposedly different official interpretations given too. This is the one that had a near fight-to-the-death between BZ and MTD Sr. It's a timer's error. Doesn't matter either if the the official didn't chop time in or not. The timer is still authorized to start the clock- R5-9-1.

Nobody knows what the right answer should really be, by rule. That includes me too, Mark, which is why I'm not gonna waste any time getting into this one- again.
I've not been here long but I do remember the thread you are referring to Jurrasic. I'm just a little curios if anyone has any info. as to whether the Federation or NCAA has addressed this issue. Especially considering the NBA directly addresses this issue and IMO, has it as it should be. Anyone?
Reply With Quote