Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by lds7199
B1 makes a steal and heads in the wrong direction and pulls up for a jumper. Coach yells at the player in mid-shot and the player throws up an airball and then goes and retrieves the ball. My partner called a traveling violation. Is this a traveling violation?
|
Nope, it's not travelling but it is an illegal second dribble. No change of team possession when shooting at the wrong basket.
|
Wait a second. I've got traveling here. Player is lifting his pivot foot and then starting a dribble: traveling.
|
You're probably right on an airball, assuming the player was in the air when he threw up the airball. It would be travelling if that player was the first to touch the ball again after he jumped and released it. It can't be travelling right away though because if a teammate touches it first, you'd call it a pass as per R4-43-3b and it would be a legal play. If the airball hits the opponent's backboard instead, you would classify it as a dribble.