[QUOTE]
Originally posted by SC Ump 
	Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by whiskers_ump only has to do something to cause a reaction...
 | 
	
 So this pitcher says, "A minister, a rabbi and a priest walk into a bar..."  and the runner reacts by laughing and laughing and laughing.
And the coach says, but Blue, the pitcher told a joke so can't the runner leave the base?
Laughingly: Did she leave the base, and in your judgment
was it making a play?
	Quote:
	
	
		| I'm being absurd here, but I'm usually leary of questions that say 'always'... or 'only has to'... or some other qualifier that is definitive.  Is this a question off a particular test? | 
	
 
SCUmp,
ASA Points Of Emphasis:
J.  Any act by the pitcher in possession of the ball in the circle that, in the umpire's judgment, causes the
runner to react, is considered making a play.
NFHS:
R8S7A3PENALTY: EXCEPTION: Mentions only that a fake throw is
considered making a play.  In FED would anything else release
a runner(s).
Something I was wondering about.