 
			
				Thu Jan 13, 2005, 06:28pm
			
			
			
		  
	 | 
	
		
		
		
			
			| 
				
				 Official Forum Member 
				
				
			 | 
			  | 
			
				
					Join Date: Oct 2004 
					Location: Alton, Iowa 
					
					
						Posts: 1,796
					 
					
					
					
					
					     
				 
			 | 
		 
		 
		
	 | 
	
	
		
	
		
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Bob M.  
I can't stop myself!!! Here's another group of questions. Again, FED and NCAA rulings are different in at least some of these cases. 
 
3rd and 25 @ As 45.  A1, not in a scrimmage kick formation, takes the snap and quick kicks the football. 
 
1. The ball hits the ground on the B-15 and comes to rest on the B-5.  A2 then muffs the ball into the endzone.  Ruling(s)    If not already blown dead by official, B can take touchback or spot of first touching. 
 
2. The ball hits A2 in the back on the A-47, becomes grounded on the A-44.  A3 then recovers the ball and advances to the A-50.  Ruling(s)  The ball hits a lineman in the back, is behind the LOS, so A/K can advance. They do not get it past the LTG for a 1st down, but since A recovered it behind the LOS the ball remains live and the down counts. It will be 4th and 20 at the 50 yard line for A  
 
3. B1, immediately after the snap, charges into snapper A2, driving him to the ground. Ruling(s)   No foul for roughing the snapper cuz they were not in scrimmage kick formation (1 player 7 or more yards behind the NZ). 
 
4. Ball is at the B-20 when it hits B1.  B2 then signals for a fair catch and catches the ball on the B-24. Ruling(s)  Illegal fair catch signal. 15 yard PSK foul, ½ the distance from the 24.   
 
5. Kick hits B1 on the A-40 and then rebounds to the A-35 where it goes OOB.  Ruling(s)  Bs ball at A-35 cuz ball went OOBs after scrimmage kick.  
 
6. B1 muffs the ball on the B-7.  B2 then catches the kick on the B-4, is unable to stop his momentum, and continues directly into his own endzone where he is downed. Ruling(s)  The momentum exception still exists since it is still a kick, just muffed, so B would have a touchback.  
 [/B]
			
		 | 
	 
	 
  My answers are bolded above.     
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |