Greg, you undoubtedly have interference. It is the responsibility of the offense to avoid the defense when the defense is fielding a batted ball, even if the runner must leave the basepath to avoid such interference. In Fed you could have possibly considered malicious contact depending on the severity of the collision and what you felt the runner's intent was. I wasn't there to see it. That's your call.
As you were unsure whether R1 had obtained 2nd at time of interference, I would have returned him to 1st. I will not give the benefit of doubt to the offending team.
As far as a delayed call in your situation...........
I don't think this was a difficult judgement decision based on how you explained it. Yet, if you were unsure it is better to have a correct call even if it is delayed.
Remember, when fans and coaches call something it means nothing, when you call something it does. By letting the play run at least to your decision point avoids a quick trigger you could regret. Certainly making the correct call immediately helps sell your confidence in the call.
Just my opinion,
Steve
|