View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 12, 2005, 03:54pm
cmckenna cmckenna is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harwinton, CT
Posts: 324
This is from the NCAA rule book as it is the only one on line and I am at work with no books....

Look at B in the case book example (A.R. 38)

Art. 5. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the playing
court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. Neither foot shall be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
A.R. 38. Is it traveling when a player (a) falls to the playing court while holding the ball; or
(b) gains control of the ball while on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls
or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet?
RULING: In (a), yes, because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when
falling to the playing floor. In (b), no. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a
timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over.
When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts
the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a
player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball, it is traveling. When a player falls to one
knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.

[Edited by cmckenna on Jan 12th, 2005 at 03:57 PM]
__________________
"Some guys they just give up living, and start dying little by little, piece by piece. Some guys come home from work and wash-up, and they go Racing In The Street." - Springsteen, 1978
Reply With Quote