A few years ago somebody queried the ASA rules people on the following play:
In a slow-pitch game, with a 3-2 pitch on the way, the batter drops the bat and starts for 1B. The bat lands on home plate, and the ball lands on the bat.
Could happen.
I believe the ruling was to ignore the contact with the bat and call the pitch, which would in this case be a ball because it would have hit the plate.
Of course, this has nothing to do with OBR, but it shows that this type of crazy play can happen.
What if, in OBR, the batter thinks an intentional ball 4 is coming and so drops the bat with the pitch on the way, and the ball hits the bat as the runner is several steps toward 1B? It seems to me that this is different from a swing where the bat leaves the batter's hands and hits the ball.
But I admit I don't know the answer.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|