View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 12:20pm
thumpferee thumpferee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Here's another problem I'd like comments on before I ship off the BRD:

Play: R1 leaves early on a caught fly ball and is between second and third when the throw to first goes dead.

The usual interpretation is: He gets two bases measured from his original base. He goes to third. OBR: When a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch, he must retouch his original base before receiving his award, which is measured from his original base. (7.05i CMT 2)

Pretty standard stuff. J/R puts it this way: "If a runner has obviously left early or failed to retouch his base, his attained base at the time of the throw is not used to measure the award. Rather, his award is measured from his occupied base — where he was at the time of the pitch." (non-italicized explication [standard pro interpretation], p. 57)

Now comes this from the MLBUM:

When a runner leaves his base early and is beyond a succeeding base at the time of a throw that goes dead, he will be awarded two bases measured from the TOT. If he retouches his original base, he will receive two bases from the TOP. (5.10)

Here's the relevant MLBUM ruling to the play in question:

The umpire will initially award R1 home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw). But if the runner retouches first, the award becomes two bases from the time of the pitch. If after the ball becomes dead the runner touches third before returning to first, he is subject to appeal.

==========

Ok, what do you think?
Boy it's good to see some baseball talk! Can't wait til season starts here!

I am late on this topic, so please forgive my ignorance if my comment is off-track.

It was my understanding that once a runner touched the succeeding base and the ball became dead, he could not return to retouch the preceeding base.

I agree with Rich to a point that the runner forfeits his right to retouch since he left early, but got me thinking that it would be penalizing the offense not to allow runner to retouch considering it was a defensive error.

Could we just assume that the player has retouched and award bases accordingly without being liable to be put out on appeal?

As far as TOP or TOT is concerned, I am a bit confused!

The runner left early at TOP, so why allow TOT to be a consideration?

Like I said, without reading all the post on this subject, I am giving my opinion blindly. (not a first I might add)lol



__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote