Thread: oob T
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 08:32am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by bgtg19


It wasn't the situation that started this thread, but let me just remind the less experienced officials who are reading this: If A1 has the ball at her/his disposal for a designated spot throw in, and any other player from Team A steps out of bounds before the throw in ends (or is it on the release? - I need to go find my book...), *that* is a violation.

What he is talking about is this: 9-2-12 ...No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

I wrote a thread on this last summer. I think that he is oversimplifying it. If the teammate merely steps OOB somewhere and stays there (ie he steps out to fake a switch with the thrower or really tries to switch but his teammate pulls away and doesn't allow it), that is a violation, but if that kid runs OOB down a sideline or endline in order to gain an advantage (ie get open to receive the throw-in pass) then I believe that action falls under the purview of 10-3-3 and a T should be called.

Opinions on this differed. I said to see the whole play and judge the player's entire action, then make the call. Others said to call a violation right away when the kid first steps OOB.
Gee, why don't you call the violation and the "T" too? According to you, you've got rules justification to do so.

Do we call travelling violations when they occur? Or do we wait until we see how many steps that the person with the ball takes?

If there are any delayed violations, the rules will spell them out- just like they do on FT's. Otherwise, when a violation occurs, you call it.

Lah me. You're making up your very own rules again, Nevada. Bad advice for newbies reading posts here.
Reply With Quote