Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Where's Mr. Dexter? He keeps an NCAA scorebook, I'm certain that he can support this.
|
Mr. Dexter makes sure everyone is in the scorebook.

(It's a lot easier at the D-I level where you have an entire athletics communications/sports information department telling you the players on the team.)
I'm agreeing with BktBallRef and Nevada here - take a look at 3.2.2 C:
Quote:
Situation: Team A, No. 14, reports and is beckoned onto the court and the ball is put in play with a throw-in. The scorer beckons the referee at the first dead ball and reports that there is no No. 14 listed in the scorebook.
Ruling: Number 14 became a player when the ball became live, however, since his or her name and number must now be entered into the scorebook, a technical foul is charged to team A.
|
The technical foul (10-1-2 b and c) is for changing the scorebook, and "penalized when they occur" refers to the occurance of changing the scorebook - it does not refer to when the scorebook should have been changed.
If the scorekeeper changes the book, but doesn't tell you, that's when the time limit comes into effect. If the scorekeeper doesn't change the book, but has to change it later (because of points scored, a foul committed, or finally pulling his head out of his . . .), you still assess the technical foul for changing the book.
Where I do disagree is with giving a T in the fourth quarter for a player who supposedly played in the first quarter, but wasn't added to the book. While the rules certainly support the interpretation of adding the player and assessing a T, I want some evidence that the kid actually played before doing such a thing.