View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 06, 2005, 08:59am
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Sorry to be the lone wolf on this, but if the ball went out of bounds before crossing the goalline on a play where the player is airborne, it's out of bounds, not a TD. This is why I asked for clarification on where it hit the pylon. If it first hit the pylon on the side labelled 1-3 or on the side labelled 3-4 above, it's NOT a TD (as it would have had to be out of bounds before crossing the goal line), and you're being purposely inaccurate (and lazy) if you just say it's "easier" to sell the TD on this play. If it first hit the pylon on side 2-4 above, it's a TD, as it would have had to cross the goalline inbounds.

All this assuming the Fed rule's intent is the same as NCAA. From the small piece of the rule posted above, it sounds like it is.
Reply With Quote