Thread: correction
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 04:29pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Bookkeeping

Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
JR, the position that it is an officials error is just as justifiable as the stance that it is a bookkeeping error. No one disputes that bookkeeping errors can be resolved at any time. The dispute arises as to whether this is a bookkeeping dispute or an officials error. If you look up bookkeeper in the dictionary, it says "one who records the accounts or transactions of a business". It doesn't mention them being one who reports (ie the R or U in our scenario)...so I am going with this not being a "bookkeeping" error but an officials error.
How can you argue against a rule? That's what I'm finding hard to understand.

Rule 2-11-11 specifically refers to "fouls". It says that if there is a discrepancy concerning "fouls", then it's a bookkeeping mistake (actual terminology used right outa the rule) and it can be corrected until the referee approves the final score. That's not my "position". That's what that NFHS rule states. If you can cite anything different from the NFHS rule or case books that would negate that rule, I'm certainly open to have my mind changed. I'm just not aware of anything anywhere that says that this rule isn't applicable.
Reply With Quote