Thread: oob T
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 01:56am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
10.3.3 Situation B says that it is a player technical foul in NFHS play.

In NCAA games this play is either legal or a violation. It may be legal if A1 gets inbounds and another player touches the ball after he obtains inbounds status then the ball is passed to him. So A1 to A2 to A3 then back to A1 might be legal.
From the NCAA rule book:
BR-128 RULE 9-2/VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES
Section 4. Player Out of Bounds
Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation.
A.R. 11. Team A sets a double screen for A1, who, in attempting to come across the freethrow lane, is legally obstructed by offensive and defensive players so that A1 leaves the playing court under the basket, circles around, returns to the playing court and then is the first to receive the ball. RULING: A violation has been committed by A1 for leaving the playing court and then becomes the first player to touch the ball upon return.

From a bulletin posted on the NCAA website:

http://www.ncaa.org/champadmin/baske.../bulletin1.pdf

A violation has not been committed when a player goes out of bounds, as permitted by Rule
7-5.8.a, does not receive a pass from his teammate making the throw in, returns to the playing
court, and is the first to touch the ball upon his return.

PLAY
A1 is in control of the ball, and A3 is positioned in the corner of the frontcourt. A3 moves toward
the end line and then leaves the playing court under his own volition. A1 passes the ball to
A2. A3 returns to the playing court a) after or b) before A2 was in possession of the passed ball
from A1.
RULING
In (a), A3 has committed a violation since he was the first to touch the ball upon his return to the
playing court. In b), since A3 returned to the playing court before A2 was in possession of A1’s
pass, he was not the first to touch the ball and A3 has not committed a violation.

In your play the ball went from A1 to A2 back to A1 so it is a violation under NCAA rules.
Reply With Quote