View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2004, 08:04am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Roger Greene
"If the defense properly appeals R1 missing 3B while advancing, or while retreating to 2B, R1 is ruled out.
__________________
Mike Rowe
ASA Umpire"

Mike,
There is no "last time by" in softball?

That is not only a question, but a true statement.
Quote:

I was running over in my mind if I would honor the appeal for missing while retreating, but was not considering honoring an appeal on missing while advancing.

As for the retreating miss, from the disctiption it could be considered a gross miss, and not correctable. If it had been a slight miss, and the runer was now standing on 3rd, I probably wouldn't honor an appeal for that either.

Roger Greene
Roger,

You need to get that other game out of your head here. There is no allowance for "neighborhood" contact with a base, by either offense or defense.

Speaking ASA, when a runner passes a base they are considered to have touched it (still subject to a missed base appeal) for the purpose of all other rules.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote