"If the defense properly appeals R1 missing 3B while advancing, or while retreating to 2B, R1 is ruled out.
__________________
Mike Rowe
ASA Umpire"
Mike,
There is no "last time by" in softball?
I was running over in my mind if I would honor the appeal for missing while retreating, but was not considering honoring an appeal on missing while advancing.
As for the retreating miss, from the disctiption it could be considered a gross miss, and not correctable. If it had been a slight miss, and the runer was now standing on 3rd, I probably wouldn't honor an appeal for that either.
Roger Greene
|