View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 04:45pm
KJ'sDAD KJ'sDAD is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Glen;

Rule 8, Section 2 Batter-Runner Is Out
A. (Fast Pitch Only) When the catcher drops the third strike and is legally put out prior to reaching first base with less than two outs and first base is not occupied at the time of the pitch.

Batter-Runner Is Out, I get your point. But.......

Section 1 defines when a Batter becomes a Batter-Runner as the result of an un-caught third strike.

Section 2 defines how/when the Batter-Runner may be legally put out. The part I find troublesome is this: legally put out prior to reaching first base with less than two outs and first base is not occupied at the time of the pitch.

Again I'd ask: What about when there are two outs and first base is or is not occupied? Can the Batter-Runner still be legally put out? Of course she can , but the rule doesn't say that, but it is very specific about when there are less than two outs and first is unoccupied.

Thank you and Happy Holiday's to you and your family as well!

Kevin
Reply With Quote