View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 12:29pm
KJ'sDAD KJ'sDAD is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35

Glen;

Rule 8, Section 2 Batter-Runner Is Out
A. (Fast Pitch Only) When the catcher drops the third strike and is legally put out prior to reaching first base with less than two outs and first base is not occupied at the time of the pitch.


What happens if there are two outs and first base is or is not occupied? Can the Batter-runner still be put out?

Of course she can, but by leaving Section 2 alone it would imply that the Batter-Runner could not.

Now if the rule is amended to read:


Rule 8, Section 2 Batter-Runner Is Out
A. (Fast Pitch Only) When the catcher drops the third strike and is legally put out prior to reaching first base.

The Batter can be put out any time she become a legal Batter-Runner as per Section 1. I think the simpler the language the better.

Kevin
Reply With Quote