Thread: Blew The Call
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2004, 02:37pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Chuck,
The reason that I am very careful about when to use the double foul in NFHS games is that it requires the use of the AP arrow.

I had a BV game last season that was very competitive. With only a few minutes remaining and a 2 point difference in the score, my partner called a double foul on two players pushing in the the post while a try was in flight. The ball went in and the arrow favored the scoring team.
I hate to break it to you, Nevada, but the college rule wouldn't have helped you in that sitch. Normally, after a double personal foul, you'd report the fouls and award the ball back to the team who was in control at the time of the whistle. However, since in your case the ball is in flight at the time of the double foul, there's no team control. So you still would've had to go to the arrow.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote