mounds
To be honest, I really didn't care what level it was because it isn't germane to the question. I know the managers can agree to play on an airport runway if they choose. What I wanted to know was, had anyone ever officiated at a game where one of the managers didn't agree and played the game under protest.
The NFHS Rulebook, Rule 1, section 4 article 2 says Any game started on a nonregulation facility by mutual agreement of the opposing coaches shall not be protested for this reason".
That implies to me that something on a nonregulation field is recognized as an item that can be protested as long as is not something that's a judgement call, and all I was trying to find out is if anyone had ever heard of that being done.
As I said, I was referring to any case where the height of the mound or its slope was the question. Those things are absolute and can be easily measured with a minimum of effort.
I was wondering if the protest would be properly noted and the game played with the decision being made about the protest after the mound was measured with the proper equipment.
Please don't get the impression I'm shooting at umps, quite the contrary. I'd like to know why the people in charge of field don't do a better job with mounds before the umpire even becomes involved.
|