View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2004, 01:14am
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Re: Re: we must continue to agree to disagree.....

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
Mark,
I respectfully disagree with your assesment of the governing rule.

The fact that by rule the timer started the clock as a Timer is supposed to...ie when the official chopped it in, is the governing rule in my opinion.

There is no disputing that the official erred, and how to correct it certainly is up to several debates...

My original opinion however remains unchanged, the timer started the clock by rule, you can not dispute that fact Mark, it is in the rule book that the timer shall start it when an official chops it in. Timers are not to judge whether or not an official chopped it correctly. It is certainly cool if they do, but by rule if they start it on the chop they did it correctly from their standpoint. If you agree with that opinion (and I know Mark doesn't), then you have an officials error that is not correctable...however ivoking 2-3 is certainly a decent thing to do.

[Edited by cmathews on Dec 18th, 2004 at 12:28 AM]

Forget R2-S3. I cannot remember a time when I ever had to invoke it. It does NOT apply.

R5-S9-A4 IS the governing rule. The official signally time in is a mechanic signifying that the ball has already been touched or touched by a player on the court. What is so difficult about the concept that it does NOT matter what the Trail did or did not do or what the Timer did or did not do. Team A executed its throw-in correctly and you CANNOT have a do over because there is nothing to do over. The only do over's are free throw violations by the non-shooting team. And you CANNOT say the game is over because of R5-S9-A1.
Well since you are giving the timer the authority to ignore an official's signal, then in case play 5.10.1.C the timer SHOULD have stopped the clock at 2 seconds when the 10 second violation SHOULD have occurred.

Team A inbounded correctly in that case. Team B played defense correctly for 10 seconds, so by your logic, we should fix that play by applying a timer's error for not STOPPING the clock when a 10 second count was INCORRECTLY handled by the official.

It's the exact same thing Mark, the OFFICIAL made the error, and you still have NO rule to support your interpretation.
Reply With Quote