
Thu Dec 16, 2004, 11:47am
|
|
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,162
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
But the second sentence in the RULING is the key to both plays. And it starts out: "Since the all remained in play on the missed free throw, ..." The remaining portion of the sentence refers to other parts of the Casebook Play which are not germane to our play.
|
So if B1 forgets that I just said "2 shots", rebounds the miss and outlets to his point guard (and we've all seen this), we have a correctable error? Heck, the ball remained in play. We had a rebound, a pass and two dribbles. Bring it back, clear the lane, and go to the POI.
That's ridiculous, but that's what you're all suggesting we do in this case. The ball was NOT live, regardless of how the players reacted to it. Remember, the whistle that blew did not cause the ball to become dead. It was dead already.
And JR, if you say, "Yeah, but the clock started", I'm gonna scream. That's a timer's error and is irrelevant to whether the ball is live or not.
|
Chuck:
You may think that is riduculus, but that is just what the Casebook Play says must be done. The Casebook even states that the ball remains live. Sometimes, we just have to live with what is in the rules and case books.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|