
Wed Dec 15, 2004, 08:40pm
|
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
But the second sentence in the RULING is the key to both plays. And it starts out: "Since the all remained in play on the missed free throw, ..." The remaining portion of the sentence refers to other parts of the Casebook Play which are not germane to our play.
|
So if B1 forgets that I just said "2 shots", rebounds the miss and outlets to his point guard (and we've all seen this), we have a correctable error? Heck, the ball remained in play. We had a rebound, a pass and two dribbles. Bring it back, clear the lane, and go to the POI.
That's ridiculous, but that's what you're all suggesting we do in this case. The ball was NOT live, regardless of how the players reacted to it. Remember, the whistle that blew did not cause the ball to become dead. It was dead already.
And JR, if you say, "Yeah, but the clock started", I'm gonna scream. That's a timer's error and is irrelevant to whether the ball is live or not.
|
Yabut the clock started!
It ain't a timer's error in this particular case. It was a scorer's error in telling you that it was 1/1 and not 2 shots? The timer started the clock correctly as per the rule for a missed first shot on a 1/1. The C shoulda also chopped time in too on the missed FT because he didn't know at that time that it shoulda been 2 shots instead of 1/1. He didn't find that out until they buzzed to tell him that- which was after B started up the court with the rebound. Now what rule are you gonna straighten out this scorer's error with?
This particular play can't possibly be anything else than a correctable error, and you have to treat it as such.
|