View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 05:52pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,162
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Your second paragraph is correct. A1 shoots her second free throw all by her lonesome, and then Team B gets the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot where the ball was when you stopped play to correct the error.

MTD, Sr.
JMO, as usual, but I think the ball never became live after the miss. The table notified the officials right away that there were two shots. It sounds like the "play" was stopped immediately. Therefore, I'd just say, "Sorry everybody. Shoulda been two, line it up for the second shot".

The ball never became live. That's my story and I'm sticking with it.

Chuck:

After my initial post to this thread I have ignored it until now. I did a skimmed through all of the posts since you made your initial post and decided your first post is the one to which I want to respond because I think it is the post that is now driving this thread.

In my initial post I said that A1 will shoot is second free throw with the free throw lane spaces unoccupied and then Team B would receive the ball for a throw-in closest to the spot where the ball was when the game was stopped to acknowledge the correctable error.

You took the position that because A1's first free throw was actually supposed to be the first of two and not the first of a one-and-one, that the ball became dead as soon as it was apparent that the free was not going to be successful. NFHS Casebook Play 2.10.1 SITUATION B says that the ball does not become dead when the free throw is not successful. The play itself is only similar to ours. In the Casebook Play, A1 was awarded two free throws (A one-and-one was erroneously instead of two free throws in our play.) but the ball was "erroneously, the ball is allowed to remain in play after A1 misses on the first attempt."

But the second sentence in the RULING is the key to both plays. And it starts out: "Since the all remained in play on the missed free throw, ..." The remaining portion of the sentence refers to other parts of the Casebook Play which are not germane to our play.

Therefore, the proper way to correct the error was to allow A1 to shoot his second free throw with the free throw lane spaces unoccupied and then Team B would receive the ball for a throw-in closest to the spot where the ball was when the game was stopped to acknowledge the correctable error.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote