View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 01:45pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

Chuck, earlier you wrote this:

Quote:
Again, I'm assuming that the horn sounded very quickly. Rebound, turn, pass, horn. If the play gets to the point where Team B scores, then we clearly have to apply 2-10.
Why is whether or not B scores relevant?
Team B scoring (or the play continuing for a long period of time after the official's mistake) makes it implausible to say that the ball never became live after the miss.

The interpretation (in the book) is basically this: Even tho the ball should NOT have been allowed to be live, since everybody played for a while and somebody scored, obviously everybody thought that the ball was live. So it was live. The only reason the ball is live is that everybody thought it should be.

My point is if we are quick enough to alert everybody that the ball isn't live, and we don't allow people to play as though it were live, then we can reasonably say that the ball never was live. If it never was live, then we just pick up where we left off, which obviously (in my very humble opinion) is the right thing to do.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote