Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by the vindictive geezer
Again, Chuck, if the clock does start, how can you possibly avoid using R2-10 in this situation? There's no rules justification to use anything else.
|
The goofy namecalling is funny, but in all seriousness, I guess I just don't see why a tick of the clock automatically makes this a 2-10 correctable error. Falling under 2-10 or not doesn't have anything to do with the clock running, does it? (Obviously, I realize that the clock running is relevant to whether you can correct a 2-10 error. That's not what I'm asking.)
If the clock runs, why can't we just say the timer allowed the clock to run improperly? This would be a simple timing mistake. We're allowed to correct a timer's mistake if we have definite knowledge of the time that elapsed. So why not do that here?
Quote:
And R2-10-5 won't let you put time back on the clock.
|
As I said, the whole point of my approach is to avoid 2-10, b/c it yields a stupid result.
|
Awarding a merited FT is not part of what the book tells you that you can correct under a timer's mistake. A timer's mistake will let you put time back on the clock, but it will not let you shoot the missed FT. If you want to give them their merited FT, the only rule that will allow you to go back and do so is R2-10. There's nothing under any other rule that will let you do that. May not be fair iyo, but dem's the rulez.