View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 12:08pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by the vindictive geezer
Again, Chuck, if the clock does start, how can you possibly avoid using R2-10 in this situation? There's no rules justification to use anything else.
The goofy namecalling is funny, but in all seriousness, I guess I just don't see why a tick of the clock automatically makes this a 2-10 correctable error. Falling under 2-10 or not doesn't have anything to do with the clock running, does it? (Obviously, I realize that the clock running is relevant to whether you can correct a 2-10 error. That's not what I'm asking.)

If the clock runs, why can't we just say the timer allowed the clock to run improperly? This would be a simple timing mistake. We're allowed to correct a timer's mistake if we have definite knowledge of the time that elapsed. So why not do that here?

Quote:
And R2-10-5 won't let you put time back on the clock.
As I said, the whole point of my approach is to avoid 2-10, b/c it yields a stupid result.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote