View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 13, 2004, 11:17pm
whiskers_ump whiskers_ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
I mentioned in an earlier post that NFHS went along with ASa
on the obstruction rule, well they did all the way.



Rule #8, Section 4 A3 b.
Exceptions An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed.
NEW (1) when an obstructed runner, after the obstruction, safely obtains the base they would have been awarded, in the umpire’s judgment, had there been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner, the obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where they were obstructed and may be put out,
(2). when properly appealed for missing a base,
(3). when properly appealed for leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched
(4). when committing an act of interference, or
(5). when passing another runner.

So both ASA and NFHS have revised the Obstruction rule to
read the same.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote