View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2004, 10:19pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Same NCAA game as the other post.

Time winding down in the first half. Team A scores with 3 seconds left. B1 grabs the ball, steps OOB, turns, then steps slightly but clearly over the OOB line and releases the throw-in.

Whistle blows for the violation, clock clearly at 1 second. Clock continues and horn sounds.

First, do we call the violation? There were Team A players nearby, but no one pressuring the inbounder. The calling official is certain that the player stepped inbounds, but is probably the only one who saw it. So do we have a whistle or not?

Second, if we do have a whistle, can we just say "that's the half" after the horn sounds? We put 1 second back on the clock, thinking that NCAA doesn't allow for lag time.

Thoughts please.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote