View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 06:38pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
Note: NF and NCAA rulings might differ. Yeah...what else is new!


Question #1:
A 4/10 A4. A99's punt is high and short. B88 is waiting to field the punt. Before the ball can be caught, A77 'blows up' B88 with a vicious, flagrant hit at the B40. The ball hits B88 and rolls to the B45 where A66 recovers while grounded. After the hit, but before the ball is recovered, B88 swears at A77. During the play, B78 is flagged for running into the kicker.


Question #2:
A 4/6 @ B-30. With 2 seconds left in a tied game, A is lined up for a field goal. A3 muffs the snap. While the ball is rolling on the ground, A3 from his knees bats the ball backward to the kicker, A99. A99 picks up the ball and runs to the B-30, stops and kicks the ball. B56 in an attempt to block the kick runs into A99 (not roughing). The ball rolls out of bounds at the B-1. Time expires during the play.
Here is my take.
NF
#1. B’s coach is going to be ticked at the end of this one. First off, the muff is ignored since the hit on B88 caused him to come into contact with the ball. I take it you want not just KCI, but a PF on A77. Unless it is an elbow or something, I think we just have KCI even if he lays him out. Since you have a double foul it doesn’t makes a difference if you call PF or KCI unless you think A77 should be disqualified for his actions. I guess you could call a multiple foul on A77 as well. If we do not have a double foul, unless you want to eject A77 or call multiple fouls, the better call for R is the KCI cuz then R can take an awarded fair catch if they want. If you do not eject A77 and call a PF instead of KCI, R would have to have the 15 yard PF penalty enforced from the PS and rekick. If the kick was poor, or if time is a major factor, R may want the awarded fair catch. We need to be discussing this before we make the penalty call. The foul on A77 and the running into the kicker will result in a double foul, then the USC will be enforced from succeeding spot (the PS) and it will be 1-10 for A at A’s 19. B’s coach will need an explanation and still be ticked off thinking you screwed it up.

#2. I am going to give B56 some latitude in his running into unless it was VERY obvious a kick was going to be made.
If you call B56 for running into kicker, then the ill batting by A3 will result in a double foul and you must have an untimed down.
If you do not call a foul on B, then they will undoubtedly decline the foul by A and the game will go into overtime.

NCAA: I do not think we have any differences, but I will be corrected if there are.
Reply With Quote