Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by blindzebra 
 
	That ruling based on 9-5 makes no sense. 9-5 talks about dribbling a SECOND time, the 2001-2 case book has it under 9-4 which makes A LOT more sense.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Nevadaref 
 
	Actually it is an illegal dribble if the player's pivot foot moved.  See 4.15.4 sit E.  A player cannot travel without holding the ball.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by blindzebra 
 
 If it does not hit anything and they catch it in the air it's a walk.
 |  
 |  
 In that case play and catching this missed "shot" airball, you have not yet dribbled, it will BECOME a dribble when it hits the floor or backboard, so how can you dribble a second time when you have yet to dribble a first?
 
 So they either need to add self pass, yet to strike the floor under 9-5, or put it where it more closely fits, under 9-4 and lifting your pivot foot prior to dribbling.
 | 
	
 It's not a violation of 9-5 because it's not a "second dribble"
It's not a violation of 9-4 because the player wasn't holding the ball (a requirement to travel under 4-43)
Ergo, a "self pass" is a legal play (assuming the player hasn't dribbled, and "passes" the ball before lifting the pivot foot).  
