Quote:
Originally posted by kentref
I just got my first look at the question and the subsequent posts.
The block in the back is a foul in this situation.
I say this because the new ruling this year that touching by R is ignored when it is caused by K means that R still has not touched the ball when the BIB occurs.
I think folks are getting hung up too much with the term "legal." Think about it this way. If there is a situation where both R and K players can possess and retain the ball, then players from both R and K can pull, push, etc. to get to the ball. This situation does not exist in the play example because until R touches the ball, K cannot retain it after getting possession.
IMO that is why the BIB in this play is a foul.
Also, one of the posts indicated that you could potentially call more than one unsportsmanlike flag on the K player that scored. More than one USC gets that guy tossed, right??
Thanks to all for a good, thought-provoking question and a lot of really good responses!
|
Good point on "If there is a situation where both R and K players can possess and retain the ball, then players from both R and K can pull, push, etc. to get to the ball." The only problem is in 2-3-4 and 2-3-5 it uses the word "legally" when discussing being able to puch, pull, etc...
I am now defending the side I was once offending.